Central Blood Bank

Taylor (L) and Jennifer Urban w Iceburgh

 PNC and Central Blood Bank – A Lifesaving Partnership

PNC makes it easy to Save Lives by partnering with Central Blood Bank to offer convenient, quarterly workplace blood drives at multiple locations in Pittsburgh throughout the year. PNC friends and family are also encouraged to donate using the group code B036. They can donate at any location. Scott Urban’s daughters, Taylor and Jennifer (pictured above) donated at Central Blood Bank’s recent Pittsburgh Penguins Gameday Blood Drive.


Make lifesaving a habit

Blood drives are scheduled four times a year – in January, April, July and October. Resolve to donate at least once this year, and give as many times as possible to provide strength hope and courage to local patients who depend on the generosity of others to feel well. Each donation can save up to three lives.

Give where you live

Branch employees and others who cannot attend workplace blood drives are encouraged to give blood on behalf of PNC at CBB community donor centers and other fixed sites. Your friends and family can apply their donations to the PNC blood drive program by asking the Blood Bank to do so at the time of giving.

Regardless of where you participate, the CBB Donor Rewards program offers “more rewards the more you give” including bonus points for making and keeping an online appointment. Donors must enroll to participate.

Make an appointment online

Visit the CBB website Make an Appointment page and follow the prompts to log in. Scroll to the bottom of the “By location” page and enter the group code for the workplace blood drive of your choice. Walk-ins are welcome, but appointments are always preferred to ensure efficient donor processing.

Blood drive locations, dates, group codes and contact information

The Tower at PNC Plaza, Jim Rohr Auditorium, Pre-function Space, 2nd floor – Code B0360141
Monday, April 9, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m., Coordinators Joyce Leitman joyce.leitman@pnc.com,  Scott Urban s.urban@pnc.com

PNC Plaza at One PNC, 30th floor, Fort Pitt Rooms – Code B0360001
Thursday, April 5, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m., Coordinators Scott Urban s.urban@pnc.com, Donna Wietrzykowski donna.wietrzykowski@pnc.com

Consumer Loan Center, Large Conference Room, 2600 Liberty Ave., 1st floor – Code B0360003
Wednesday, April 11, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. – Coordinator Patricia Hillard patricia.hillard@pnc.com

Firstside Center, 5th floor Cafeteria – Code B0360002
Wednesday, April 11, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m., Coordinators Greg Hatfield gregory.hatfield@pnc.com, Rita Taylor rita.hernandez@pnc.com

Nova Place (Allegheny Center), Multi-purpose Room, 1st floor – Code B0280002
Wednesday, April 4, 7:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. – Coordinators Francis Petrovich francis.petrovich@pnc.com, Jon Lewis jon.lewis@pnc.com

Customer Care Center, 500 Smithfield Street – Code B0360136
Thursday, April 12, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., Coordinator Lori Field lori.field@pnc.com

US Steel Tower, 33rd floor, Room C12 – Code W0220047 (UPMC sponsored for all building tenants)
Tuesday, April 10, Contact Deborah Connors deborah.connors@pnc.com  

PNC YMCA, 236 Fifth Ave. – Code C4030006
Thursday, April 19, 8 a.m. – 2 p.m. Contact Craig Prince, cprince@itxm.org

** Click here to download a complete list of the 2018 PNC Blood Drives and locations in a printable PDF file.

Donation process
The process to donate blood takes about an hour. It is safe and comfortable for the donor.

  • Registration: Upon arrival, donors must sign-in, present proof of identification and complete a health history questionnaire.
    Save time: Use the Donor Pass to complete the questionnaire from your desk on the day you donate.

    Go paperless: Use your Smartphone! After completing the health history questionnaire, enter your email address and CBB will send you the completed questionnaire. When you arrive to donate, open the attachment in the email on your Smartphone and CBB staff will scan the information. If you misplace the email, you will have to retake the health history questionnaire before donating.
  • Medical interview perks: A donor specialist will review the questionnaire, and you will be given a mini-physical and the ability to track wellness information. It’s a free and easy way to help you live well. You must complete the interview process to qualify for donor appreciation items.
  • Donation: The donor specialist will prepare and cleanse your arm for donation; a 10 minute process.
  • Refreshments: After donating, relax in the canteen for 15 minutes while enjoying a beverage and snack before returning to work.

For more information, visit the CBB website or call 1-866-DONORS-1. You may also contact CBB Account Manager Craig Prince (412-209-7245), PNC Pittsburgh Market Blood Drive Sponsor Doug Lippert, or Coordinator Joyce Leitman.

Learn more
Community blood programs are an important component of national preparedness when unforeseen disasters and emergencies occur. For more information and reasons to donate blood:

Download the free CBB Mobile App from your favorite App Store and put the power of saving lives in your hand!